AWS Committees

AWS initiatives are addressed through special committees designed to meet the needs of the membership and the surgical community. All members benefit from the experience and wisdom gained from serving on these committees. Participation is encouraged, and the success of AWS depends on it. Contact the AWS office for more information or to join a committee. Click here for a committee signup form.


The mission of the Awards Committee is to oversee the annual AWS Awards process.


Chair: Betsy Tuttle-Newhall, MD, FACS

Clinical Practice

This committee focuses on information relevant to women in academic and private practice.

Co-Chairs: Jean Miner MD, FACS and Robin Williams MD, FACS


This committee is responsible for development and implementation of the AWS communications strategy.

Chair: Sharon Stein, MD, FACS

Database Development

The mission of the Database Development Committee is to assist with technology projects that will help AWS provide its members with better resources. Update from the Database Committee.

          Chair: Marie Lee, MD FACS

Grants & Fellowships

The mission of the AWS Grants & Fellowships Committee is to oversee the annual AWS Foundation/Ethicon, Inc. Grants and the Visiting Professor Program.

Chair: Elizabeth Shaughnessy, MD, FACS

Member Services

The mission of the AWS Member Services Committee is to encourage surgeons to join AWS, and to oversee new member recruitment and orientation and membership retention efforts.


Chair: Jane Wey, MD, FACS


The mission of the AWS Nominations Committee is to recruit candidates and present a slate of nominations for vacancies on the AWS Council each year.

        Chair: Nancy Gantt, MD, FACS 


The mission of the AWS Resident Committee is to develop resources to support and promote women in surgical residency programs.


Chair: Maya Babu  Vice Chair: Elizabeth Shurell


The mission of the AWS Student Committee is to develop resources to support, educate and inspire women medical students pursuing a career in surgery


Chair:  Christina Grassi