Opportunities & Awards

Ethicon Fellowship | Visiting Professor | Poster Contest | Greening the OR Contest | Nina Starr Braunwald Award | Distinguished Member Award | Honorary Member Award | Resident Award | Medical Student Award


AWSF/Ethicon Fellowship

This $27,500 grant, with no topic restrictions, will be awarded to one qualified and approved applicant.

Past AWSF/Ethicon Fellowship grants have supported women surgeons by funding original research in topics including breast cancer, surgical education, surgical outcomes, bariatric surgery and biology, and MIS. 2016 AWSF/Ethicon Fellowship Recipient is Genevieve M. Boland, MD, PhD, from Massachusetts General Hospital. Her project is called Analysis of circulationg exosomal RNA profiles in Melanoma.

Closed for 2017 | Past Award Recipients

Kim Ephgrave Visiting Professor Award

KimEphgrave_headshotIN-PRACTICE | This program provides medical schools with the opportunity to request top women surgeons as speakers and receive funding from the AWS Foundation. Opportunities to lecture heighten the visibility of women surgeons while encouraging women medical students to pursue similar careers. In addition, the Kim Ephgrave Visiting Professor Program promotes dialogue between practicing surgeons and the academic community. The program was recently named in memory of Dr. Kim Ephgrave who served in the AWS Leadership from 1997 – 2002 and as AWS President in 2000/2001.

2017/2018 Visiting Professor Applications due February 15, 2017 call for host site applications available March 15, 2017.

The 2016/2017 Visiting Professors | Past Professors | More about Kim Ephgrave, MD

Starr Medical Student & Resident Poster Contest

ninaSTUDENTS & RESIDENTS | The Starr Poster Contest, named for Dr. Nina Starr Braunwald, is designed to facilitate interaction and idea exchange between students interested in surgery, surgical residents, and faculty members of various institutions. We invite medical students and residents to select their best work for presentation at the AWS Annual Conference.

2016 Contest Winners | More about Nina Starr Braunwald, MD

Greening the OR Contest

greening-the-orSTUDENTS & RESIDENTS | This contest is designed to facilitate discourse between students, residents, and perioperative faculty and staff about ideas that demonstrate environmental responsibility in the operating room through reduction of energy use, preservation of natural resources and/or effective waste management.

Closed for 2016 | More information


Foundation Awards

The Association of Women Surgeons Foundation strives to advance and honor the contributions of women at all stages of their surgical career as well as recognize the successes of AWS members and individuals who enhance the profession through contributions to medicine, education and the community.



 Nina Starr Braunwald Award

IN-PRACTICE | Established through an endowment, the AWS Foundation recognizes service by giving this award to a member or non-member surgeon in recognition of outstanding contributions to the advancement of women in surgery

2016 Nina Starr Braunwald Award Recipient is Diana Lee Farmer, MD, FACS, FRCS, Chair, Department of Surgery; University of California, Davis Health System

Closed for 2016 | Previous Award Recipients | More about Nina Starr Braunwald, MD

 Olga Jonasson Distinguished Member Award

IN-PRACTICE | This award is named in memory of Olga Jonasson, MD, who was the first female chair of an academic department of surgery and a leader in the American College of Surgeons. The award is given to a member surgeon who exemplifies the ideals and mission of the association. This was formerly called the Distinguished Member Award.

2016 Olga Jonasson Distinguished Member Award Recipient is Sherry M Wren MD, FACS; Vice Chair for Professional Development and Diversity, Professor of Surgery; Director of Global Surgery, Center for Innovation in Global Health, Stanford University School of Medicine & Director of Clinical Surgery; Palo Alto Veterans Health Care System

Closed for 2016 | Previous Award Recipients | More about Olga Jonasson, MD

AWS Past Presidents’ Honorary Member Award

NON-MEMBER | This annual award is given to individuals who are supportive of AWS’ goals and mission. It was renamed in 2007 in honor of Claude Organ, MD, FACS, who was an avid supporter of AWS and the proud recipient of our first Nina Starr Braunwald Award. In 2011, the Claude Organ Honorary Member Award was renamed to the AWS Past Presidents’ Honorary Member Award.

2016 AWS Past Presidents’ Honorary Member Award Recipient is Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, Lewis Atterbury Stimson Professor & Chairman; Department of Surgery; Weill Cornell Medicine and Surgeon-in-Chief, New York Presbyterian Hospital at WCM

Closed for 2016 | Previous Award Recipients


Hilary Sanfey Outstanding Resident Award

RESIDENTS | Formerly the AWS Outstanding Resident Award, it was recently renamed to reflect the generous endowment established by Dr. Sanfey to support the award’s annual funding. Nominees will be surgical trainees who are in primary residency training in either general surgery or a surgical specialty at the time of nomination, and who demonstrate potential as future leaders in surgery.

2016 Hilary Sanfey Outstanding Resident Award Recipient is Kristy Rialon, MD, Duke University

Closed for 2016 | Previous Award Recipients | More about Hilary Sanfey, MD

Patricia Numann Medical Student Award

STUDENTS | Named in honor of the founder of AWS, this award was established to encourage and support female medical students pursuing a career in surgery. The recipient is chosen based on her expressed interest in surgery, potential leadership qualities or research contributions to the field of surgery, response in a personal statement, and letter of recommendation. Nominees should be in the clinical years of medical school at the time of receiving the award in October.

The 2016 Patricia Numann Medical Student Award is Jessica G.Y. Luc, University of Alberta

Closed for 2016 | Previous Award Recipients | More about Patricia Numann, MD