Join AWS | Donate | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
News & Press: News

Slate of Candidates for the 2019-2020 AWS Council

Wednesday, September 11, 2019  
Share |

The Nominating Committee presents the following slate to the membership for the 2019-2020 AWS Council.

All voting members* will vote on this slate at the AWS Annual Business Meeting on Saturday, October 26 at 12:30pm. This meeting will take place during the AWS Annual Conference at the Parc 55 Hotel, San Francisco, California.

Not registered for Annual Conference yet? Register here.

*Voting member categories include: Regular, New Surgeon, Lifetime, Resident, Student, and Institutional.

Positions to be voted on at the Annual Business Meeting:

Executive Committee
President-Elect: Elizabeth Shaughnessy, MD, FACS, PhD ('20)
Vice President: Marie Crandall, MD, MPH, FACS ('20)
Secretary: Kandace McGuire, MD, FACS ('21)

Council Members
Clinical Practice Chair: Elizabeth Acquista, MD, FACS ('21)
Communications Co-Chair: Lillian Erdahl, MD, FACS ('21)
He For She Chair: Tawakalitu Oseni, MD, FACS ('21)
Member Services Chair: Meredith Duke, MD, FACS ('21)
Outreach Chair: Heather Yeo, MD, MHS, MBA, MS, FACS ('21)
Publications Chair: Marion Henry, MD, MPH, FACS, FAAP ('21)

Positions not requiring a vote at the Annual Business Meeting:

New Council Appointments

Executive Committee
President: Sharon Stein, MD, FACS, FASCRS ('20)
Immediate Past President: Sareh Parangi, MD, FACS (‘20)
Past President: Celeste Hollands, MD, FACS, FAAP ('20)

Council Members
AWS Student Representative / Chair: Ashley Choi (3/1/20)
AWS Resident & Fellow Representative / Chair: Patricia Martinez Quinones, MD (7/1/20)

ACS Advisory Council for General Surgery: Jennifer Suzanne Davids, MD, FACS ('22)
American Journal of Surgery (AJS) Senior Editor: Stephanie Bonne, MD, FACS ('20)
Latino Surgical Society (LSS): Minerva Angélica Romero Arenas, MD, MPH ('21)
Resident and Associate Society (RAS): Mohini Dasari, MD, MS ('22)
Society of Asian Academic Surgeons (SAAS): Susan Tsai, MD, MHS, FACS ('21)
Society of Black Academic Surgeons (SBAS): Linda Barry, MD, MPH, FACS ('21)

Elected and Appointed Council Members Continuing Current Term

Executive Committee
Treasurer: Marybeth Hughes, MD, FACS ('20)
Foundation Chair: Hilary Sanfey, MB, BCh, MHPE, FACS ('21)

Council Members
Communications Co-Chair: Ainhoa Costas-Chavarri, MD, MPH, FACS ('20)
Grants and Fellowship Chair: Geeta Lal, MD, FACS ('20)

ACS Women in Surgery Committee (WiSC): Marie Crandall, MD, MPH, FACS ('21)
American College of Surgeons (ACS) Governor: Susan Pories, MD, FACS ('21)
Association of Academic Surgeons (AAS): Susan Pitt, MD, MPHS, FACS (2/28/20)

Leaving the Council with thanks and appreciation for their work:

Sasha Danielle Adams, MD, FACS
Simone Betchen, MD, FACS
Christine Laronga, MD, FACS
Marilyn Marx, MD, MBA, MMS, FACS
Lauren Nosanov, MD
Faith Robertson, MD, MSc
Madeline Torres, MD