News & Press: News

2020-2021 Slate of Candidates & Proposed Bylaws Changes

Tuesday, September 8, 2020  
Share |

Dear AWS Members,

Please join us for the Annual AWS Business Meeting on Saturday, October 3 at 4:30pm EST for our Annual Election of Officers and Bylaws Amendments. All voting members will vote on the new slate of Council candidates and Bylaws changes for the 2020-2021 year listed below. 

The AWS Annual Business meeting will take place at the conclusion of the AWS Virtual Annual Conference. Not registered for Annual Conference yet? Register here.


Slate of Council Candidates and Bylaws Changes for 2020-2021


The Nominating Committee presents the following slate to the membership for the 2020-2021 AWS Council.

Executive Committee
President: Marie Crandall, MD, MPH (‘21)
Vice President: Marybeth Hughes, MD (‘21)
Treasurer: T. Salewa Oseni, MD (‘22)
Council Members

Communications Co-Chair: Minerva Angélica Romero Arenas, MD, MPH (’22)
He For She Chair: Kevin Pei, MD (’21, interim)
Grants and Fellowship Chair: Carrie Sims MD (‘22)  
ACS Women in Surgery Committee (WiSC): Stephanie Bonne, MD ('23)


Positions not requiring a vote at the Annual Business Meeting:

Executive Committee

President-Elect: Elizabeth Shaughnessy, MD  PhD (’21)**
Secretary: Kandace McGuire, MD  (‘21)
Immediate Past President: Sharon Stein, MD (‘21)
Past President: Sareh Parangi, MD (‘21) 
American College of Surgeons (ACS) Governor: Susan Pories, MD (’21)
Foundation Chair: Nancy Gantt, MD (‘23)
Strategic Plan and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force (ex officio member of Exec): Geeta Lal MD MSc (‘22)

Council Members

American Journal of Surgery Senior Editor: Caroline Reinke MD (‘21) 
Clinical Practice Chair: Elizabeth Acquista, MD  (‘21)
Communications Co-Chair: Lillian Erdahl, MD  (‘21)
Association of Academic Surgeons (AAS): Virginia O. Shaffer, MD (2/22) 
Medical Student Chair: Cheryl Zogg MSPH, MHS (4/21) 
Member Services Chair: Meredith Duke, MD  (’21)
Outreach Chair: Heather Yeo, MD, MHS, MBA, MS, (‘22) – 2nd term
Publications Chair: Marion Henry, MD, MPH (‘22) – 2nd term
Resident & Fellow Chair: Francesca Boulos, MD, MSc (4/21)


ACS Advisory Council for General Surgery: Jennifer Suzanne Davids, MD  (‘22)
ACS Resident and Associate Society (RAS): Mohini Dasari, MD, MS (’22)
Latino Surgical Society: Chantal Reynas, MD (’22) 
Society of Black Academic Surgeons (SBAS): Linda Barry, MD, MPH (’21)
Society of Asian Academic Surgeons (SAAS): Susan Tsai, MD, MHS  (’21)


American Journal of Surgery (AJS) Junior Editor: Caitlin W. Hicks MD, MS (’21)
Leaving the Council with thanks and appreciation for their work:
Ainhoa Costas-Chavarri, MD, MPH
Celeste Hollands, MD

**Dr. Shaughnessy has decided not to assume the Presidency for the 2020-2021 year. While this has been a difficult year for many, Beth has stated that a recent diagnosis of breast cancer and the subsequent treatment have affected "my judgment, my decision-making, and my ability to be the leader that I would like to be going forward for AWS. As this organization is at a crucial point of growth, it needs someone to lead who is at the top of her game."

I know that I speak for everyone in saying that Beth has our admiration and respect for the amazing resilience, grit, and generosity she has shown to AWS, not just throughout her career, but in particular, over this past year. I know each of you will respect her decision.



The AWS Council is proposing two AWS Bylaws amendments to the membership, one pertaining to Regular membership eligibility and the second to Officer qualifications. The purpose of this email is to provide the required 30-day notice to membership.

The proposed changes are as follows: 

Regular Membership Eligibility

Rationale: To open membership to other surgical specialties, such as Oral & Maxillofacial surgeons, who have expressed interest in AWS membership.

Current Bylaws: Regular Membership: Regular membership is open to physicians holding an MD or DO degree or their international equivalent who identify as surgeons and who have completed training. Regular members may vote and may hold office.

Proposed Bylaws Amendment: Regular Membership: Regular membership is open to physicians who identify as surgeons and who have completed training. Regular members may vote and may hold office. 


Officer Eligibility

Rationale: To increase eligibility for officer positions to Council Liaisons as well as Committee Chairs.

Current Bylaws: Executive Committee – Qualifications for Officers: Any regular surgeon member in good standing serving or having served as a chair of a committee is eligible for nomination and election as an officer of AWS. 

Proposed Bylaws Amendment: Executive Committee – Qualifications for Officers: Any regular surgeon member in good standing serving or having served as a Council member is eligible for nomination and election as an officer of AWS. 


We will be utilizing the two-thirds vote of voting members present virtually at the Saturday, October 3 Annual Business Meeting from 4:30-5:30pm EST for approval of the AWS Council recommended changes to the bylaws. Electronic polling will occur to record voting of those present. Please feel free to direct any questions or concerns to
Thank you for taking the time to review these recommended changes. We hope to see you virtually at the 2020 AWS Annual Conference on September 12 and October 3 on Strength in Diversity.
Respectfully submitted,
Sharon L. Stein, MD FACS FASCRS 
President, Association of Women Surgeons 

Prepare for our 2020 Business Meeting - With the Year in Pictures 


Please send us photos of your 2019-2020 year in images. Although we can't be together this year in person, we would like to celebrate you, our members, as part of our 2020 Business Meeting. Please send images of you, our members of AWS, fighting COVID, racism, and gender inequities; your triumphs and tribulations, moving the causes of AWS as you continue to Engage, Empower, and Excel this year.
Post to social media with #WhyIAWS or email to