Join AWS | Donate | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Annual Conference

Save the Date

Mark October 20-23 on your calendars for the 2018 AWS Annual Conference in Boston, MA.

Program Highlights

Saturday, October 20

7:30 - 8:30am
Breakfast and Registration

8:30 - 9:15am
Introductions by Dr. Parangi

Kick-Off Speaker: Dr. Caprice Greenberg

9:15 - 10:30am
Scientific Session 1

Moderators: Dr. Sharon Stein, Dr. Cathy Chen, and Dr. Katie Nason

10:30 - 11am

11:00am - 12:00pm
Panel: Dare to Lead: Leaning In Without Falling Over

Moderators: Dr. Arghavan Salles and Dr. Deborah Munhoz
Presenters: Dr. Martha Zeiger, Dr. Luanne Thorndyke, and Dr. Shaghayegh Aliabadi

12:00 - 1:00pm
Keynote Address: Implications of Sex Bias in Research

Presenter: Dr. Melina Kibbe

1:00 - 2:30pm
Lunch and Story Slam

Moderator: Dr. Tawakalitu Oseni

2:30 - 3:30pm
Panel: Success and Failure: Two Sides of the Same Coin

Moderators: Dr. Alia Qureshi and Dr. Martina Stippler
Presenters: Dr. Nawal Nour, Dr. Shari Meyerson, Dr. Jo Shapiro, and Dr. Mary Killackey

3:30 - 4:15pm
Scientific Session 2

Moderators: Dr. Sharon Stein, Dr. Cathy Chen, and Dr. Katie Nason

4:15 - 4:45pm

5:00 - 6:00pm
Business Meeting and Presidential Speech

Dr. Celeste Hollands

6:00 - 7:30pm
Social Event

Sunday, October 21

7:00 - 8:30am
Breakfast/Group Exercise

8:30am - 12:00pm
Parallel Education Symposium

Negotiation Bootcamp - co-sponsored with the American Surgical Association
Featuring: Professor Robert Bordone, Harvard Law School and Dr. Julie Ann Sosa

Mock Residency Selection Committee Workshop
Moderator: Dr. Lisa Ferzoco

Additional Events

Monday, October 22
AWS Foundation Awards Dinner

Tuesday, October 23
7:00 - 9:00am
Networking Breakfast

Moderator: Dr. Jennifer Davids