Submit your 2017 AWS Foundation Award Nominations by May 31, 2017. We will celebrate this year’s award winners on Monday, October 23 during the 2017 Annual Conference in San Diego.

Awards Dinner

The 2016 AWSF Awards Dinner was a vibrant celebration of accomplishment.


View the online photo gallery >

Thank you to our 2016 table sponsors!AWSF

Congratulations to the 2016 AWS Foundation Awards Winners:

Nina Starr Braunwald Award
Diana Lee Farmer, MD, FACS, FRCS, Chair, Department of Surgery; University of California, Davis Health System

Olga Jonasson Distinguished Member Award
Sherry M Wren MD, FACS; Vice Chair for Professional Development and Diversity, Professor of Surgery; Director of Global Surgery, Center for Innovation in Global Health, Stanford University School of Medicine & Director of Clinical Surgery; Palo Alto Veterans Health Care System

AWS Past Presidents’ Honorary Member Award
Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, Lewis Atterbury Stimson Professor & Chairman; Department of Surgery; Weill Cornell Medicine and Surgeon-in-Chief, NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center

Hilary Sanfey Outstanding Resident Award
Kristy Rialon, MD, Duke University

Patricia Numann Medical Student Award
Jessica G.Y. Luc, University of Alberta

Read more about the AWS Foundation Awards.