AWS FOUNDATION2012 AWS logo Foundation

The AWS Foundation supports educational projects such as surgical research by female physicians and is dedicated to sponsoring activities that advance women’s careers in surgery.


To provide opportunities for the educational and professional growth of women in surgery.


In 1996, the AWS leadership came together with a bold plan for generating positive changes in the medical profession.

Familiar with the barriers many women face, these surgeons sought a means for heightening the visibility of women surgeons and creating advancement opportunities for them. Their solution was to establish the Association of Women Surgeons Foundation to fund initiatives promoting educational and professional growth.

AWS celebrates 35 years! Join us.


Board of Trustees

Chair: Hilary Sanfey MB, BCh, MHPE, FACS
Vice Chair: Susan Pories, MD, FACS
Treasurer: Joyce Majure, MD, FACS
Secretary: Susan Kaiser, MD, PhD, FACS

Trustees: Kate Bandt, MDMeredith C. Duke, MD, MBADixie Mills, MD, FACSBeth Sutton, MD, FACS, and Betsy Tuttle Newhall, MD, FACS

Executive Director: Katie Keel


or fill out a Contribution Form.